Seven Books Grey is an updated, expanded version of Tacita Dean’s Seven Books (2003), and is an exploration of Dean’s oeuvre as it straddles film, drawing, photography, writing and book-making. Each book has a different focus and together they are an accurate survey of Dean’s work to date.

Book One: “Complete Works and Filmography 1991–2011”
Book Two: “Selected Writings 1992–2011” (Dean’s writings) Book Three: “A Panegyric, Gaeta, Edwin Parker” (three projects made with and about Cy Twombly)
Book Four: “Film Works with Merce Cunningham”
Book Five: “Footage” (artist’s book with a text by Marina Warner taking a cultural-historical look at the foot and the significance of limping)
Book Six: “Post-War Germany and ‘Objective Chance’: W.G. Sebald, Joseph Beuys and Tacita Dean” (essay by Christa-Maria Lerm Hayes)
Book Seven: “Essays on the Work of Tacita Dean” (texts by Wolfram Pichler, Peter Bürger, Douglas Crimp and Achim Hochdörfer)

452 pages

Paperback in slipcase
19.5 x 26 cm


ISBN 978-3-86930-299-7
1. Edition 05/2011

Out of print

€ 78.00 incl. VAT
Free shipping

Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies. For more information on privacy, please visit the following link Data protection statement